ABOUT US

About us

OUR MISSION

NZ Aerosports was founded in 1986 with a simple objective: to provide skydivers with the experience of pure wild flight. This goal led founder Paul ‘Jyro’ Martyn on a journey to develop the world’s most comprehensive range of sports and high performance parachutes with the Icarus Canopies and Daedalus Project brands. NZ Aerosports is on a mission to provide pilots with the best flying experience one canopy after another. We are constantly working to bring you the best wings. We push the envelope. We innovate.

01 / 30

02 / 30

03 / 30

04 / 30

05 / 30

06 / 30

07 / 30

08 / 30

09 / 30

10 / 30

11 / 30

12 / 30

13 / 30

14 / 30

15 / 30

16 / 30

17 / 30

18 / 30

19 / 30

20 / 30

21 / 30

22 / 30

23 / 30

24 / 30

25 / 30

26 / 30

27 / 30

28 / 30

29 / 30

30 / 30

Our Factory

The original NZ Aerosports factory at 46A Sussex Street is a piece of history. Scraped paint and graffiti hid a tiny gem in the heart of Auckland. The beer garden had countless parties, numerous skydiving greats visit and sign the door of fame, and was the birthplace of many of our greatest ideas. Production outgrew Sussex Street, and in September 2014 we moved into a new factory just up the road at Level 4, 137 Great North Rd. What was once office space was transformed into a factory full of plants, history and life. Our doors are always open, so if you find yourself in Auckland on your travels, come and visit us for a beer or five.

Founder

PAUL ‘Jyro’ MARTyn

Self-proclaimed omnipotent dictator Jyro was the life and soul of NZ Aerosports. He was a quirky, eccentric genius, with a scientific eye and an artistic, romantic heart. He passed away in 2017, but his legacy remains at the core of who NZ Aerosports is. His motto: don’t fuck up, have a phat time, be the best. We keep pushing hard like Jyro did – because as he would say, there’s fun to be had.

our People

Richie

Production Head Honcho

richie@nzaerosports.com

Chris Brook

Senior Guinea Pig

chris@nzaerosports.com

Attila

Big Boss

info@nzaerosports.com

Shan

Director of Awesomeness

marketing@nzaerosports.com

Hamish

Industry Sales Monkey

hamish@nzaerosports.com

Maria

Demo & Customer Experience Maestro

demo@nzaerosports.com

Julien

Scientific Parachute Maestro

julien@nzaerosports.com

Heather

Miss Money Bags

accounts@nzaerosports.com

BatJen

Nocturnal Crime Fighter

jen@nzaerosports.com

Luci

Omnipotent Dictatoress

luci@nzaerosports.com

Rilee

Professional Van-lifer and Canopy Lender

rilee@nzaerosports.com

Stewy

Ladies Man, Test Jumper & Video Editor

stewy@nzaerosports.com

Snelly

Production & Rigging Whiz

snelly@nzaerosports.com

Yan

Quality Controller

yan@nzaerosports.com

Kamal

Production Supervisor

Te Aroha

Indispensable Shipping Co-ordinator

tearoha@nzaerosports.com

Lilia

Machinist

Kovi

Facility Development Manager

Samba

Machinist

Kev

Parachute Rigger

Kathy

Machinist

Tim

Machinist

Seetha

Machinist

Lynne

Machinist Training Manager

Renu

Machinist

Alan

Parachute Rigger

Arlo

Parachute Rigger

Alex

Parachute Rigger

Chris Thomas

Parachute Rigger

Jordan

Machinist

Helga

Machinist

Michael

Parachute Rigger

Appy

Quality Controller

Vai

Machinist Supervisor

Beedo

Dealer Sales Monkey

Candice

Machinist

Ishani

People Person

Jan

Parachute Rigger

Lathan

Parachute Rigger

Matt

Sales Monkey

Monica

Machinist

Paree

Parachute Rigger

Sammi

Machinist

Satoru

Parachute Rigger

Our History

ICARUS

1990